Parliament approves the nomination of 18 ministers


Parliament has unanimously approved the nomination of eighteen ministers after a recommendation by the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Appointments.


The approved ministers include seven Regional Ministers, one substantive Sector Minister, three Deputy Sector Ministers and seven Deputy Regional Ministers.

However, the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Appointments is still reviewing the nomination and other relevant information on the Minister-Designate for Bono Region, Mrs. Evelyn Ama Kumi-Richardson for approval.

Presenting the Committee’s report on the floor of Parliament, the Chairman of the Appointments Committee and Member of Parliament for Bekwai, Mr. Joseph Osei-Owusu, stated that the Committee was satisfied with questions answered by the Nominees and recommended their approval.

Minority’s reaction

The Minority Leader and Member of Parliament for Tamale South, Mr. Haruna Iddrisu, in debating on the motion on the Committee’s report stated that, the nominated Ministers were able to provide answers to questions by the Committee.

Speaking at the Plenary, he indicated that the Minister-Deaignate for Tourism, Arts and Culture, if sworn in by the President, should target the beaches and develop them to attract foreign investors.

Mr. Iddrisu pointed out that the beaches in Ghana are poorly managed, and that there is the need to pay more attention to them.

The Tamale South MP who doubles as the Ranking Member for the Appointments Committee reiterated that the tourism industry is private sector-driven, and that the Ministry should engage in private sector participation for development.

On the nomination of the Regional Ministers, Mr. Iddrisu informed the Plenary that the designated Regional Ministers should ensure that peace and security in some flash points of the regions are assured.

The nominations and referral

On Thursday, February 28, 2019 and Friday, March 1, 2019, the President of the Republic, His Exellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo-Addo, communicated to Parliament the nomination of eighteen Ministers and Deputy Ministers of State for appointment in accordance with Articles 78, 79 and 256 (1) and (2) of the 1992 Constitution.

The nominations were consequently referred to the Appointments Committee by the Speaker of Parliament for consideration and report, pursuant to Order 172 of the Standing Orders of Parliament.

The Committee referred to the 1992 Constitution, The Standing Orders of Parliament and the Curriculum Vitae of the Nominees as reference documents in its deliberations.

Consideration of the referral

Pursuant to Order 172 (3) of the Standing Orders of Parliament, the Committee in the first instance caused to be published in newspapers of national circulation, the names of the Nominees and notice of the Committee’s Public Hearings for the attention of the general public.

The publication further requested memoranda from the general public on any of the nominees for consideration.

The Committee subsequently, obtained Confidential Reports on the Nominees from the Ghana Police Service and the Bureau of National Investigations (BNI) as part of its background checks.

Tax Status Reports (TSR) were also obtained from the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA) on all the nominated Ministers.

Public Hearings were thereafter, held at the Committee’s room in Parliament, to consider the nominations.

At the commencement of proceedings, the Nominees subscribed to the Oath of a Witness and subsequently answered questions relating to their Curriculum Vitae, matters relating to their eligibility, issues pertaining to the offices to which they have been nominated and other issues of national concern.

The nominated Ministers

The sector Ministers include Minister-Designate for Tourism, Arts and Culture, Mrs. Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Deputy Minister-Deaignate for Lands and Natural Resources, Mrs. Naana Eyiah, Deputy Minister-Designate for Health, Mr. Alex Kodwo Kom Abban and the Deputy Minister-Designate for Aviation, Mr. Yaw Afful.

The nominated Regional Ministers are Minister-Designate for Western Region, Mr. Kobena Okyere Darko-Mensah, Minister-Designate for North East Region, Mr. Solomon Namliit Boar, Minister-Designate for Bono East Region, Mr. Kofi Amoakohene, Minister-Designate for Western North Region, Mr. Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu, Minister-Designate for Oti Region, Mr. Kwasi Owusu Yeboah, Minister-Designate for for Upper West Region, Dr. Hafiz Bin Salih and the Minister-Designate for Savannah Region, Mr. Salifu Adam Briamah.

Other Nominees include: Deputy Minister-Designate for Bono Region, Mr. Stevens Siaka, Deputy Minister-Designate for Ahafo Region, Mr. Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere, Deputy Minister-Designate for Northern Region, Mr. John Bennam, Deputy Minister-Designate for Western North Region, Mr. Alex Tetteh, Deputy Minister-Designate for Savannah, Mr. Samuel Yeyu Tika, Deputy Minister-Designate for North East Region, Mr. Tahiru Tia Ahmed and the Deputy Minister-Desginate for Volta Region, Mr. Johnson Avuletey.

Source: GhanaJustice/S.Ayisi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here