PAC to publish gains made during 2017/18 public hearing – Hon. Kaale-Ewola Dery


Vice Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee and Member of Parliament for Lambussie in the Upper West region, Mr. Edward Kaale-Ewola Dery, has pointed out that the Public Accounts Committee is preparing to put out the report and gains made during the 2017 to 2018 public hearings of the committee.


In an interview with, Mr. Kaale-Ewola Dery emphasised that a lot of gains had been made as a way of protecting the public purse and the committee is compiling the list to publish for public knowledge.

He explained that because of the voluminous nature of the committee’s report, much time was needed to organise material and that, at the right time the figures would be put out in the public domain.

“We need to let the Public know what the infringements are and what we have been able to retrieve as well as what is being done to minimize the occurrence of such infractions”, he reiterated.

Mr. Kaale-Ewola, however, disclosed that the committee realised that most of the financial infractions happened before it came to the attention of the auditors in charge of those institutions and, further, to the Auditor-Generel’s Department.

He added that by the end of the seventh Parliament, the public would come to appreciate the work of the Public Accounts Committee.

About the Public Accounts Committee

The Public Accounts Committee consists of not more than 25 Members and is chaired by a Member who does not belong to the party which controls the Executive branch of Government. The duty of the Committee is to examine the audited accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure of the government as presented to the House by the Auditor-General of Ghana.

The leadership of the committee is made up of the Chairman, Vice Chairman, Ranking Member and the Deputy Ranking Member.

Chairman of the committee is Mr. James Klutse Avedzi. The Deputy Chairman is Mr. Edward Kaale-Ewola Dery. The Ranking Member to the committee is Mr. Kofi Okyere-Agyekum and the Deputy Ranking Member is Mr. Hardi Mohammed Tufeiru.

Source: GhanaJustice/S.Ayisi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here